Bible Study Tips series ~ Day Five ~ S.O.A.P. & Psalms


This is the final post in this short series on Bible Study tips. I pray these tips have been practical and helpful…maybe even life changing. Sometimes it is the little things that make the biggest difference in our lives. Oftentimes, when I am listening to good teaching or good advice, reading Scripture or listening to a sermon, I want to know “what does this look like in my daily life?”. In other words, how do I actually apply this; how do I make it happen? I pray this series has done just that.

In the post, My Bible, My Workbook, I forgot to share one more thing. We had previously mentioned one way to read through the book of Proverbs and the Psalms each month. I mark my Bible throughout the Psalms so I know what chapters to read on each particular day of the month. For example, above or next to Psalm 1, write Day 1; next to Psalm 6, write Day 2; at Psalm 11, write Day 3…and so on. Count five Psalms for each day of the month and then mark the day next to that Psalm. Now you can flip right to the day’s reading whether you choose to read all five each day or one or two. I like to sometimes one month read the first of the five Psalms for each day then the next time through, read the second Psalm for that day of the month, etc. I learned about reading through Psalms and Proverbs monthly from my Grandma Lindsey and I like the way it works for me.

Just a sidenote: You will notice that Psalm 119 has 176 verses! That is alot of reading! It is divided into 22 stanzas of 8 verses each so I usually will choose so many stanzas to read for that month or read whatever I can. It is such a fantastic teaching and encouraging Psalm you don’t want to miss reading it through whether bit by bit or all at once!

Lastly, this morning I want to show you the S.O.A.P. Bible study method I use and learned from Courtney at http://womenlivingwell.org/ and http://goodmorninggirls.org/. The acronym is as follows:

S– Write out the Scripture passage for the day.

O– Write down 1-2 observations from the passage.

A– Write down 1-2 applications from the passage.

PPray over what you have learned from today’s passage.

You may use notebook paper, or any paper you choose. With each Book Club (we study a book of the Bible) at http://goodmorninggirls.org/ Courtney and Angela provide free Bible Study Sheets to download and print. It is so helpful!

I love that it is that simple! Yet, it is SO effective! I hope you try it!

Have a wonderful day

Walking with Jesus…all the way!

Related Articles:
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 1 ~ Habits
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 2 ~ Bible Study Notebook
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 3 ~ My Bible, My Workbook
Bible Study Tips ~ Day 4 ~ Pray

7 thoughts on “Bible Study Tips series ~ Day Five ~ S.O.A.P. & Psalms

  1. Loving these Bible Study Tips. Wow – didn’t realize what I have been doing was a “study method” and had an acronym I love it S.O.A.P.

    Love reading your Blog sweetie…you are a tremendous blessing to so many ladies.

    .keep up the good work…….mom

Would love to hear your thoughts...

