The Gentleness Challenge ~ Bumped and Shaken

Once a week during the month of January I am linking up with Courtney over at Women Living Well. She has set forth a challenge for herself and all of us Mommies to be gentle with our children.

“Let’s focus this January on dealing gently with our children. Touch them gently, use their names gently, use your words gently, slow down and be loving, kind, and gracious.”, Courtney Joseph.

I need the challenge! How about you? I’m like Courtney in her post for this week, I also never thought I would lose my temper with my children. And when I did first “lose it”, I was surprised at my responses to the stress and aggravation that come with parenting.

I have learned that I am certainly not alone. Many who see me with my eight children ages 5, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, and 14 more often than not think that I must be thee most patient, capable mother and some sort of supermom. But, that is just not the truth. There are no supermoms (unless maybe you ask our precious children…:)but to them we are also beautiful with no make-up on, aren’t we?). There is only a Super Powerful God who graciously saves every sinner who calls on Him. His Holy Spirit moved into my heart when He saved me and He is all my righteousness. I am nothing and I possess nothing apart from Him.
Zero. Zilch. Nada.

The thing is, our true character reveals itself when it is shaken. I once heard my cousin, Pastor Tim Lindsey II, give an excellent illustration. He said when a cup gets bumped, or shaken, whatever it is inside is going to spill out. As I listened to his sermon the Holy Spirit gripped my heart. I knew He was convicting me of my sin of too often becoming angry and impatient with my children when I’m tested. Losing my temper, using harsh words or an angry tone of voice is unacceptable. Sarcasm is another one I am often guilty of.

James 1:19-20 says it perfectly. Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath: For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God. I need to hear that speak to me personally. It says to me, the wrath or anger of you, Mother, does not produce the righteousness of God! Ouch! Oh how I need that correction. I am so thankful that the Lord loves me and my children so much that He is willing to correct me and shape me into His image!

Moms, Grandmas, caregivers, I encourage you to click on the link and read the posts for this challenge at Women Living Well. She is posting her encouragement to us on Mondays. Since Mondays here at BIMH are Marriage Moments I will be posting mine on Tuesdays. Please leave a comment here at Bones in my Heart and let me know you are joining me in the challenge in dealing gently with our children. I know the Lord will bless us and give us the victory right where its needed! Praise Him!

Walking with Jesus,

20120102-202942.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Gentleness Challenge ~ Bumped and Shaken

  1. I will definitely join this challenge. I find this to be especially challenging at times, dealing with three teenagers. But I know that gentleness is not only the way God wants me to deal with them, it is the only way I will be able to connect with them.

  2. Oh, you struck a chord with me! “when a cup gets bumped, or shaken, whatever it is inside is going to spill out.” love that illustration…..
    What a great challenge! will be thinking about this today. thank you!

Would love to hear your thoughts...

